IMPRESS (Integrating Metacognitive Practice to Ensure Student Success) incorporates metacognition into the study of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) studies. IMPRESS reaches students through three programs: a summer experience for 20 incoming 1st-year students each year, engaging them in authentic scientific practice and reflections about learning, knowledge, self-assessment and identity, a 1st-year course “Metacognition in Science” in which 48 students apply metacognitive ideas and strategies to their concurrent STEM classwork, and a Learning Assistant program that positions students as classroom leaders helping other students master content. IMPRESS is designed to increase retention and performance, with deaf/hard-of-hearing and first-generation students a model for applications to the more general RIT population.



Assembly Fellow, Network Fellow (2020): Mikayla Bulson (she/her/hers),

My name is Mikayla Bulson (she/her) and I’m a first-year undergraduate in the Mechanical Engineering Technology program at Rochester Institute of Technology. On campus I’m involved with the Society of Women Engineers and No Voice Zone where I picked up some sign language. In my free time, I love to play animal crossing, build things, and do paint by numbers. This is my first year working with Access and I’m so excited to be representing RIT and get more involved in the programs! My email is, feel free to reach out to me about anything!


Network Fellow (2020): Kylie Johnson (she/her/hers),

I’m Kylie Johnson and I’m a first-year undergrad in the mechanical engineering department at Rochester Institute of Technology. I’m involved with the Women in Engineering program at RIT, as well as our Formula Racing team, and IMPRESS. I spend most of my free time outdoors, whether it’s kayaking, boating, hiking, or riding my bike, and I love to take on any creative projects that come my way, especially if it involves building things! This is my first year representing RIT as a Network Fellow, and I’m honored to be a part of this great network of people! My email is, please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or concerns!
Network Fellow (2020): Sydale John Ayi

Past Fellows:

Lacey Dallum, Assembly Fellow 2019, Network Fellow 2019

Michaela Dinman, Network Fellow 2018

Sam Cammarata, Assembly Fellow 2017

Michaela Dinman, Assembly Fellow 2017

Debbie Kamau, Network Fellow 2016, 2017

Ashley Adair, Network Fellow 2016