CU-Prime, CU-Boulder


CU-Prime is a student-led, diversity-focused, and community-oriented organization in the physics department. Our goal is to improve the culture of physics at CU Boulder through equity and inclusion, allyship, and education. We offer three programs for undergraduate students that include:

  • a semester-long academic class for first year students about what it looks like to do science.

  • bi-weekly research talks led by grad students that promote networking and awareness of research happening at CU.

  • a long term mentoring program that connects new physics students to graduate students and upper division undergraduate students.

Additionally, we host internal workshops to educate ourselves on issues of diversity and inclusion.



Morgan Aire (she/her/hers), (Network Fellow 2020)

Morgan is a fourth-year undergraduate physics student at the University of Colorado Boulder. She was born and raised in Colorado and enjoys hiking, skiing, swimming, traveling, and cooking. She currently works in the Mentorship program within CU-Prime. She has worked in a variety of physics labs, such as the National Nuclear Data Center, Soft Materials Research Center, and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. She hopes to pursue a career in medical physics after graduating in Spring 2021.


Kerrie Dochen (Assembly Fellow 2016)

Hassan Hassan (Assembly Fellow 2021)

Simone Hyater-Adams (Assembly Fellow 2018)

Lucas Kolanz (he/him/his), (Network Fellow 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)

I have lived in Colorado all my life and went to the same school from kindergarten to senior year. I enrolled into the University of Colorado Engineering Physics program in Fall 2016 and graduated Spring 2020. I have worked in two labs so far. First, an experimental optics lab that produced femtosecond optical frequency combs. Now I am in a computational AMO lab looking at how attosecond light pulses interact with atoms.


Tyler McMaken (he/him/his), (Assembly Fellow 2020)

Tyler is a third-year PhD student in the Physics Department at CU Boulder. He currently does research as a theoretical astrophysicist, studying quantum effects inside black holes, and he also teaches physics courses and recitations each semester. He was an instructor for CU-Prime’s course on the Fundamentals of Scientific Inquiry in 2019, and he currently helps run CU-Prime’s biweekly research talk series. Tyler’s originally from Ohio, and in his free time he enjoys hiking, cooking, and playing piano, harpsichord, or organ at his church and in ensembles with CU Boulder’s Music Department.


Jamie Principato (Assembly Fellow 2018)

Katie Rainey (Assembly Fellow 2017, 2019)

Sarah Stevenson (Network Fellow 2021, 2022)

Akiharo Yamaguchi (Network Fellow 2016)

Scroll to Top